? servers

? players online

How many guitarists we got in SG?

• Content Count:  2959

I'm in the market for an electric and I figure the more opinions I get the more informed I am. My budget's up to $150ish in the near term of a month and a half or so, and I can basically up that by another 30-40 every two weeks by saving a bit off each paycheck...but since I'm a newb here it needs to be something really worth getting at that price like a MIA fender or a MIM and a really nice amp. Since I live in Orlando, the hipster capitol of central florida, I'm basically swimming in used guitars which makes craigslist pickings nice.

Now since I want to play a mix of golden oldies/classic rock and modern metal I already know to go for an HSS. The trick is which one. I've been warned off of squiers, starcasters, and there's mixed reviews of yamahas which is fine since there arent really any of those around atm anyway. What I've found so far is a $70 GSA60, a $150 SA Series ibanez that I THINK is an SA260FM or QM, and then at the very top end there's a few oddballs floating around like MIM Fenders, a "Deluxe Stratocaster" that's got a body, pickguard, and pickup color I've only ever seen on USA made models but the bridge and lower fret count of a MIM along with oddball wavy "stratocaster" text.

What I'm wondering is if I'm heading in the right direction for the kind of music I want to play, what I should consider reasonable prices for these kinds of guitars, and any other models I might want to look at for a good value.

Oh yeah and some guy wants to get rid of one of these badly enough that he's willing to sell it for $15, which means it's time for me to go turn that around for double that minimum at a pawn shop.

• Content Count:  219